Premera

Does Premera cover Mounjaro?

Quick answer · Type 2 Diabetes

Premera covers Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes with prior authorization on Employer / Commercial Insurance and ACA Marketplace.

  • Employer / Commercial Insurance: Covered (preferred drug). Trial of metformin for at least 90 days, or a documented reason it can't be used (["contraindication"])
  • ACA Marketplace: Covered (preferred drug). Trial of metformin for at least 90 days, or a documented reason it can't be used (["contraindication"])

Last verified June 3, 2026. Policy effective May 1, 2026. Source: 5.01.569.pdf. How we verify this data →

Check your card for your exact plan →

Mounjaro for Type 2 Diabetes

What Premera requires, by plan type. Open this indication on its own page →

Employer / Commercial Insurance

Covered (preferred drug)

What you need to qualify

  • Age 10 and older
  • Trial of metformin for at least 90 days, or a documented reason it can't be used (["contraindication"])

Qualification pathways

You can qualify through any one of these.

Initial approval for Type 2 Diabetes (First-Line, adults and pediatric)

All of:

  • Individual is aged 10 years or older
  • Diagnosed with type 2 diabetes
  • Has had an adequate trial of or a contraindication to metformin
  • Drug will not be used in combination with another GLP-1 or GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist
  • Does not exceed FDA labeled maximum daily dose

Documentation to bring

  • Office visit notes containing the diagnosis of type 2 diabetes
  • Relevant history and physical evaluation
  • Medication history documenting adequate trial of or contraindication to metformin
  • Documentation that drug will not be used in combination with another GLP-1 or GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist

Quantity limits

  • 2.5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 7.5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 10 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 12.5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 15 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)

Approval and renewal

  • Initial approval: 12 months
  • Renewal: every 12 months
  • To renew, the plan looks for Re-authorization approved up to 12 months as long as drug-specific coverage criteria are met and chart notes demonstrate the individual continues to show a positive clinical response to therapy.

Not covered when

  • Use in combination with another GLP-1 or GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist is excluded
  • Exceeding FDA labeled maximum daily dose is excluded

Policy note: Mounjaro is listed as a first-line preferred GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist for type 2 diabetes in adults and pediatric individuals aged 10 and older. The policy states that 'adequate trial of or a contraindication to metformin' is required but does not specify a duration for the metformin trial. Mounjaro is also listed as one of the qualifying step-therapy drugs that must be tried before Victoza (liraglutide) can be approved, but Mounjaro itself does not require prior GLP-1 trial. Diagnosis of type 2 diabetes must meet criteria defined in the Related Information section.

Policy effective May 1, 2026 · verified June 3, 2026 · source: 5.01.569.pdf

ACA Marketplace

Covered (preferred drug)

What you need to qualify

  • Age 10 and older
  • Trial of metformin for at least 90 days, or a documented reason it can't be used (["contraindication"])

Qualification pathways

You can qualify through any one of these.

Initial approval for Type 2 Diabetes (First-Line, adults and pediatric)

All of:

  • Individual is aged 10 years or older
  • Diagnosed with type 2 diabetes
  • Has had an adequate trial of or a contraindication to metformin
  • Drug will not be used in combination with another GLP-1 or GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist
  • Does not exceed FDA labeled maximum daily dose

Documentation to bring

  • Office visit notes containing the diagnosis of type 2 diabetes
  • Relevant history and physical evaluation
  • Medication history documenting adequate trial of or contraindication to metformin
  • Documentation that drug will not be used in combination with another GLP-1 or GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist

Quantity limits

  • 2.5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 7.5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 10 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 12.5 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)
  • 15 mg/0.5 mL — 4 pens (2 mL)

Approval and renewal

  • Initial approval: 12 months
  • Renewal: every 12 months
  • To renew, the plan looks for Re-authorization approved up to 12 months as long as drug-specific coverage criteria are met and chart notes demonstrate the individual continues to show a positive clinical response to therapy.

Not covered when

  • Use in combination with another GLP-1 or GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist is excluded
  • Exceeding FDA labeled maximum daily dose is excluded

Policy note: Mounjaro is listed as a first-line preferred GIP/GLP-1 receptor agonist for type 2 diabetes in adults and pediatric individuals aged 10 and older. The policy states that 'adequate trial of or a contraindication to metformin' is required but does not specify a duration for the metformin trial. Mounjaro is also listed as one of the qualifying step-therapy drugs that must be tried before Victoza (liraglutide) can be approved, but Mounjaro itself does not require prior GLP-1 trial. Diagnosis of type 2 diabetes must meet criteria defined in the Related Information section.

Policy effective May 1, 2026 · verified June 3, 2026 · source: 5.01.569.pdf

Why Mounjaro requests get denied by Premera

Based on what this policy asks for. Fix these before the first submission.

  1. Wrong brand for the diagnosis. Mounjaro and Zepbound are the same molecule with different approved uses; a request for Mounjaro under a diagnosis that matches Zepbound is routinely denied.
  2. No documented metformin trial (dose, dates, and outcome) or a stated reason it can't be used.

Frequently asked questions

Does Premera cover Mounjaro?
Premera covers Mounjaro for type 2 diabetes with prior authorization on Employer / Commercial Insurance and ACA Marketplace.
Do you have to try metformin before Mounjaro?
Yes for type 2 diabetes: Premera requires a documented trial of metformin of at least 90 days, or a documented reason it can't be used (["contraindication"]).
How long does a Mounjaro approval last with Premera?
Initial approvals last 12 months, and renewals are granted in 12-month periods.
What does Premera require to renew Mounjaro?
Re-authorization approved up to 12 months as long as drug-specific coverage criteria are met and chart notes demonstrate the individual continues to show a positive clinical response to therapy.
How current is this information?
This page reflects Premera's written policy as of May 1, 2026, last verified against the source document on June 3, 2026.

Other medications under Premera

Mounjaro coverage under other plans

All insurance plans · All medications

This page summarizes Premera's written prior-authorization policy. It is not a guarantee of coverage; plans vary by employer and benefit design. Verify with your plan before relying on it.